What are you worth?

It’s been a while since I’ve set aside the time to blog.

Today I felt like God was prompting me to sit down and write, so I opened my laptop, my bible next to it, and turned on some worship music.

Having no idea what it was God wanted me to share I sat in his sweet and quiet presence and just listened.

He whispered four simple words to me, “what are you worth?”

As I pondered on this question I wasn’t quite sure how to answer.

“Uhhhh, well I have two dollars and a laffy taffy in my pocket…”

Psychologically speaking, this question essentially is asking you what you see your value as a person is.

Too often do we let our worth become tied up with the things we possess, the relationships we are in, or the experiences we encounter.

You might be thinking without these new shoes I am worthless.

Without that boyfriend or that girlfriend I am nothing.

Without these good grades I have nothing to offer.

But today I’d like to challenge you with this question.

My dear friend, what are you worth?

Are you worth the car you drive, or the clothes you wear?

That college degree you worked so hard for or that job you just got promoted in?

None of these mere temporary things define you.

Not that boy or girl you slept with last night, or those drugs you just took hours ago, or whatever it is you have done that you feel demeans your value as a person.

Let me break this question down a little further.

God isn’t asking what you have or don’t have. God isn’t asking how many mistakes we have made or what experiences we’ve dealt with.

God wants you to see your true value, that nothing you own or possess, or no deeds or mistakes on this earth can define you or lessen your worth.

In Matthew 10, Jesus is sending out the 12 disciples and he warns them of all they will encounter.

In verses 29-31 he says to them, “What is the price of two sparrows- one copper coin? But not a single sparrow can fall to the ground without your father knowing it. And the very hairs on your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid, you are more valuable to God than a whole flock of sparrows.”

These three simple sentences speak volumes about how God see’s each of us.

He says not even a sparrow can fall to the ground without him recognizing it. But yet you are so much more valuable than a whole flock of sparrows!

Let’s go even further.

Jesus hung on the cross with you on his mind.

I can just imagine him hanging there, blood running down his face, rapidly breathing, and saying, “Ashley, this is for you.”

“Caleb, this is for you.”

“Charles, this is for you.”

You were on his mind.

If it was only you, if it was just one person, he would do it all over again.

Because of this our sins are forgiven and although we may fall short we are seen irreproachable in his eyes.

Beloved, don’t sell yourself short.

Make that guy pursue you, you’re worth it.

Aim for that dream job, you are able.

It’s not until we see ourselves through the eyes of our creator that we will understand truly how much we are worth.

Stop giving yourselves discounts and look at yourself how God looks at you.

You may have crossed boundaries before and you think you will never find a good man to love you. You may have went through a bad family situation growing up and you don’t feel like your good enough to have a functional family of your own one day. You may have failed a few classes and dropped out of school instead of pushing forward.

God’s grace is sufficient.

Your best days are ahead of you.

My friends, if this is for just one of you, you are more than your mistakes, you are more than your accomplishments or failures, and you are more than that relationship.

You are loved.

You are valued.

You, are priceless.

Leave a Reply

