My Person In Heaven

I knew one day I would lose you, but I didn’t think it’d be this soon.

You can never really prepare yourself to live a life without someone when life with them is all you’ve ever known.

I sat by your hospital bed for days begging God not to take you.

I held your hand and watched you take your last breath, as the high pitched beep of the machines flat lining and sounds of sobbing filled the room.

It’s been nearly 2 years since that day and I remember it so vividly.

A year and nine months to be exact.

Life changed for me that day.

Heaven gained a new angel and I gained an entire new perspective of life.

Each day that goes by is a day closer to seeing you again. While I still have this hope that we will meet again, the pain doesn’t entirely go away.

Holidays are a little bit harder without you. There’s an empty plate at the table and the absence of laughter.  One less card to open, one less picture to take. Its little things like this we take for granted and don’t realize the value or importance of until it’s gone.

There’s no denying that I miss you with every fiber of my being, but to say I wish you were here would be so selfish of me.

Instead, I wish I could spend just one day in heaven with you; to tell you how much my life has changed and how I hope I’ve made you proud.

But if I could go to Heaven for just a day, I’m afraid I might just stay.

Leave a Reply

